8-Star FC in Salama Ward, Laikipia East constituency thrashed Bluestars FC 1-0 to clinch the much coveted Dimba Mtaani na TSP trophy.
The winning goal was scored by Dennis Apane in the 16th minute, in a grand finale played at Marura Primary School in Pesi.
Over one thousand residents from Pesi village and beyond were in attendance.
TSP leader Mwangi Kiunjuri, who presented the trophy to 8-Stars FC, said that the Dimba Mtaani na TSP season 2 will kick off in February and will involve all football and volleyball teams in Laikipia County.
‘’Whether I am elected or not, the tournament will continue. We will be doing this more often because this is one of the ways to bring about cohesion in Laikipia.’’ Kiunjiri said
Kilometres away in Ngobit ward, Young rangers beat Bridge Commandos 2-1, to bag the Dimba Mtaani na TSP trophy, Ngobit chapter. The two goals were scored by team captain Taipi in the 17th and 63rd minutes.
The winning team in each of the wards received a Kshs. 30,000 cash award and a trophy, while first runners up received a Kshs. 20,000 and Kshs.10,000 token.
A total of 19 and 17 teams participated in both wards with all participants taking home football kits.